The Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly was inaugurated on 12th February, 2024 after a successful election of Assembly members in December 2023. This was in fulfilment of Article 35 Clause D of the !992 constitution which enjoins the state to promote decentralization and popular participation in governance by affording all possible opportunities to the citizenry to participate in decision making at all levels of governance.

Hon. Dr Samuel Okoe Amanqua

Hon. Dr Samuel Okoe Amanquah, the Municipal Chief Executive of Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly in his welcome address lauded both past and newly elected Assembly members for their support and hard work which has positively uplifted the image of KKMA. He said that their election into offices marks the beginning of a collective journey towards the improvement and development of the Municipality.

According to the Hon. MCE, he was ready to work hand in hand with each Assembly member for the betterment and upliftment of the Municipality. He urged members of the Assembly to join hands with him to build the aspirations and deeds of their various communities.

Hon. Amanquah stated that, his vision was for the Assembly to become a model for others to emulate and that he was ready to turn challenges into opportunities for a brighter future to kick start socio-economic projection into reality in order for KKMA to take its rightful place as one of the premier Municipalities. He urged honourable members and all present to be agents of peace ahead of the 2024 general elections.

The Member of Parluiament for Kpone Constituency, Hon. Joseph Akuerteh Tettey used the opportunity to call for peace and unity. He called on all and sundry to put aside their political colours and unit for the development of Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly.


The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akofu-Addo in an address read on his behalf by. Hon. Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, a member of the council of state urged members of the Assembly to be abreast with all the laws on local governance in order to prevent conflict with key stakeholders.


President Akofu-Addo encouraged honourable members to build good working relationships with the people they represent, colleague Assembly members, District/Municipal Chief Executives, Member of Parliament and staff of the Assembly to facilitate the work of the Assembly. He explained further that, the Ministry of Local government, will soon organize an orientation and training program to enable them appreciate their expected roles and responsibilities.

Newly Elected Assembly Member swearing the oath of Office and of Secrecy

Her Honor Eleanor Kakra Barnes-Botchway, Chief Justice’s representative swore the newly elected members comprising of eighteen (18) elected Assembly members and nine (9) government appointees for a four-year term. They swore the oath of Allegiance and Secrecy.


Hon. William Josiah Nuertey, a government appointee and Hon. Jerry John Adjorlolo; Assemblyman for Sraha electoral area failed to garner the required two-third majority of members.

At the first round of voting, Hon. Josiah secured fourteen (14) votes while Hon. Adjololo garnered twelve (12) votes with two (2) rejected ballots.

At the end of the second round of voting, both candidates had fourteen (14) votes. There will be another vote in ten (10) days since none of them had the required number.

Noami Kyekye, a rep of the Municipal Electoral Officer explained to the house that both candidates would be rendered ineligible to contest again if none of them gets the two-third majority votes in ten (10) days’ time.

Some of the dignitaries who graced the occasion included Mr Mohammed Ali Amadu; Municipal Coordinating Director of KKMA, the Clergy, Nii Tetteh Otu II; Paramount Chief of Kpone and Alhaji Ibrahim Okwei; Chief Imam