The election of Presiding member (PM) for the Kpone-Katamanso Municipal took off on the 7th June, 2022 at the Municipal Assembly Hall.

Four people were sworn in as government appointees before the election of the PM took place. The four people were Madam Margaret Yeboah Mensah, Mr. Samuel T. Akpeng, Alhaji Ibrahim Kofi Baidoo and William Nuertey Josiah.

           Government Appointees taking an oath

The election was conducted by the Municipal Electoral officer; Madam Emefa Agbezulor and her team.

The incumbent presiding member of the Assembly; Hon Joseph Gbeze went unopposed. At the end of voting, he polled 22 Yes votes against 6 NO to be retained as the PM.

            Hon. Joseph Gbeze casting his vote

The official oath, oath of secrecy and oath of allegiance was administered by His worship, Festus Fovi Nukunu; a circuit court judge from Tema.


Mr. Joseph Gbeze, taking his official oath as the new PM elect

In his acceptance speech, Hon. Gbeze expressed his gratitude to God and the Member of Parliament for Kpone- Katamanso constituency; Hon. Joseph Akuertey Tettey. He as well thanked the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), Hon Samuel Oko Amanquah, and all the Assembly members for their unflinching support and also ensuring that the election was carried out peacefully. He enjoined his colleague Assembly members to work tirelessly to transform the Municipality. Hon Gbeze also pledged to form a united front with all the Assembly members towards addressing the developmental needs of residents in the municipality.


            Audience at the election and swearing in program

There was also the formation of subcommittee members.